Saturday Centus

9 Oct

Jenny Matlock has given us a phrase to use as inspiration for a short story–less than one hundred words.  This is Saturday Centus.  Be sure to visit Jenny’s site to read more stories inspired by the prompt “if I had a hammer.”

 

I stood in the doorway of the tiny living room, staring at the blank white wall in front of me.  For the first time in my life, I was out of my parents’ home, and I would never hear again, “You can’t hang that up.  We’re not putting holes in these walls after we worked so hard to make this place nice.”  I could hang pictures, a shadow box, or whatever I wanted on these walls.  Now there was only one thing to limit my new-found freedom.  I could do everything I wanted if I had a hammer.

22 Responses to “Saturday Centus”

  1. Alison 9 October 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    I love how all the possibilities are swirling around, until reality hits. There is always ‘something’ we need to do first. Well done!

  2. Judie 9 October 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    I remember the feeling of being able to hang what I wanted where I wanted. It was good! So was your story!!

  3. Cheryl 9 October 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    I remember that first nail so vividly. Great take on the prompt.

  4. Ames 9 October 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    I feel the same way now, as I am married the the wall hole po po! I enjoyed your great use of the prompt! ~Ames

  5. Deborah 10 October 2010 at 3:43 am #

    I loved this … ooh the possibilities :o)

  6. jfb57 10 October 2010 at 4:16 am #

    Oh I like this one because it takes me back to my parent’s house! Great diea!

  7. Terra 10 October 2010 at 8:00 am #

    CUTE! Time to hit the hardware store…take the freedom to the next level of independence! Very nice.

  8. claudia 10 October 2010 at 10:28 am #

    This so captured my own youth. My dad NEVER let us put things on the walls. In my teens, I was given ONE nail to use on one wall. I could not imagine a real teen’s room with posters, etc.

    • Teresa 10 October 2010 at 10:30 am #

      I have to admit this one came from personal experience. My dad did finally relent when we were older. I bet your walls are still covered today in rebellion!

  9. Viki 10 October 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Hopefully, she’ll figure out she can use a can or something else. Great coming of age post.

    • Teresa 10 October 2010 at 11:38 am #

      More likely, she’ll go running home to ask Daddy for one! :-) Thanks for stopping by!

  10. gautami tripathy 10 October 2010 at 11:45 am #

    I know that feeling!

    http://firmlyrooted.blogspot.com/2010/10/that-hammer.html

  11. Susannah 10 October 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    Oooh I really like this! … because I really identify with it! LOL

    I now have my OWN hammer and walls that are absolutely FULL of holes!

    Great Saturday Centus, I loved it. :-)

  12. Robyn 10 October 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    That’s cute, very amusing. There’s always an obstacle!
    xoRobyn

  13. jeff 10 October 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    This is a quite fresh take on the prompt…I like…Peace

  14. Annas Adornments, Sweden 11 October 2010 at 4:31 am #

    Oh Teresa!
    What a lovely post!
    Great use of the prompt.
    I like the fact that you have let the hammer remain a tool for creativity; decorating a new home.

    Your post says so much about children’s need to grow up and become independent; the need of young adults to have the chance to show that they are responsible; the need for anyone to not hear nagging from parents or any one else. (There are people who get a divorce just to not hear comments from their spouces, that sound like the ones your protagonist does not want to hear from his/her parents.)

    Wonderful post about making a fresh start with ‘white walls’! Both concretly and metaphorically. Love it!

    Thank you for your kind words about my SC-post. I am going to try to write a short story. It may not work, because I suspect that the SC-text is good because it allows the reader to imagine anything he or she knows or dreams about when it comes to the world of Robinson Crusoe, sea-going, ship-wrecks, pirates, Muntiny on the Bounty, etc. I don’t know if I could still keep my readers’ interest in a longer text.

    I think you could write something longer with this empty white room. A short story or even a novel for young people or even general readers. Give it a try!

    Best wishes,
    Anna
    For the benefit of other readers:
    Anna’s SC Week 23

  15. nimaruichi 11 October 2010 at 6:30 am #

    What a time for the hammer to go missing! The first taste of freedom – delicious!

  16. Kat 11 October 2010 at 6:38 am #

    This was such a fun story. Oh, that first taste of independence and freedom! Really great use of the prompt!

  17. Sue Anderson 11 October 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    I remember that heady taste of first freedom well.

    =)

  18. jennymatlock 16 October 2010 at 11:39 am #

    My parents were like that, too. Don’t put holes in the walls. Don’t tape on the walls. I got pretty carried away, too, when I got my first place. Swiss cheese had less holes than all the ones I created trying to hang things everywhere!

    Thanks for the fun link.

    Clever use of the prompt.

  19. cjschlottman 16 October 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    great take! i’m 62 and still putting holes in my walls to rehang art. even had to learn how to patch them and touch up the paint.

    i so remember when i was first set free to hammer away!

    wonderful centus……….cj

    • Teresa 16 October 2010 at 9:48 pm #

      I admit, I’m pretty good at filling holes and touching up paint.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

