Jaundiced Outlook

4 Apr

For today’s poetic inspiration I’ve used the prompt offered by the NaPoWriMo site.  It lists names of spaceships from the writings of science fiction writer Iain M. Banks and suggests using one of them as the title for a poem.  I’ve chosen Jaundiced Outlook.  As luck would have it, my poem has 55 words, so I’m also sharing this for Friday Flash 55.

***

each evening’s nightly news

poisons my happy mood

killing my heart and soul,

flaunting in my face

glaring displays of

dying, death and disease

crime, corruption and conflict

leaving my heart sallow,

weak and weary with worry

for what this world has become,

where our society is headed;

give me instead

hope, joy and peace.

***

Finally, the prompt for today’s Haiku A2Z Heights is eggshells.

walking on eggshells

waiting for an explosion

wanting peace instead

***

11 Responses to “Jaundiced Outlook”

  1. Mama Zen 4 April 2013 at 10:58 am #

    This is so true! I think that you’ve captured just how many of us feel.

  2. Pranita 4 April 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    End of the day… every soul craves for peace! So easy to get, but so difficult to find!

  3. WabiSabi 4 April 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    Walking on eggshells – not a fun place to be, for sure!

  4. Talon 4 April 2013 at 7:18 pm #

    Nothing worse than walking on eggshells. And, yes, I want that place of peace, too, Teresa. Loved your poem and your haiku!

  5. G-Man 4 April 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    Yep Teresa, gimme some of that hope, joy, and peace stuff too!
    Lord knows we need it.
    Very nice job on both prompts,
    Loved your optimistic 55
    Thanks for playing, and have a Kick Ass Week End

  6. Panchali 4 April 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    Crisp and neat one…liked it a lot!:) Waking on eggshells can be dicey…

  7. yvonne osborne 5 April 2013 at 7:26 am #

    The news is indeed a downer. Yet, I want to be informed and know what’s going on. I guess we just need to intersperse the good with the bad. Like the robins that are back! One outside my window as I write, checking out the shrubbery for a nesting spot.

  8. brian miller 5 April 2013 at 7:43 am #

    hope joy and peace might carry us a bit but will it avoid what the news is setting us up for….we maybe if enough follow the way…smiles…walking on eggshells seldom lasts…

    my 55 is here

  9. Alice Audrey 5 April 2013 at 11:40 am #

    Jaundiced Outlook was the name of a spaceship? Leave it to Ian Banks to come up with something like that.

    Between the two poems I’m guessing your life is a little too intense right now.

  10. readinpleasure 5 April 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    And peace we shall have. Well done :-)

  11. hedgewitch 5 April 2013 at 2:29 pm #

    I never used to watch the news for those very compelling reasons you list, but my husband is addicted to it, and over the years, it’s become a time we share and spend together, usually with dinner–that’s helped a lot to distance it a bit from my own world–but all you say is only too true.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

