Fire and a Cinquain

5 Apr

I was a bit surprised this morning when I saw all the goats and the llama on high alert.  I snuck through the barnyard, into the barn and didn’t see anything amiss.  Then I peeked around the barn into my field.  I didn’t invite her for breakfast, but she was feasting on goose eggs.

 coyote

coyote

sneaking closer

drawn to barnyard noises

a vicious canine killer

Nature

coyote

Miranda’s revenge!

coyote stands within my site

ready, aim, fire away!

***

In addition to the above cinquain for NaPoWriMo, I am sharing it and the haiku for d’Verse Poets.  I might have to explain the irony in the haiku though.  Last summer I lost one of my goat kids, Miranda, to a coyote.   This morning, I stood and watched this one and the only thing I could shoot her with was my camera.  Some revenge…

I’m also including my haiku for Haiku A2Z Heights, where we are up to the letter F, which is for Fire.  Notice, fire in the haiku above.  See, it all ties together in this rambling post.  Kind of…

candle and flower

bright flames of passion

burning my heart’s desire

on the soul’s window

***

 

19 Responses to “Fire and a Cinquain”

  1. Jen Gerhart 5 April 2013 at 11:27 am #

    Seriously awesome pictures. Scary though…

  2. claudia 5 April 2013 at 11:37 am #

    oh wow…what awesome shots…glad that you fired away…he looks majestic…never seen one live…this is wonderful.. i think i had been a bit scared though…

    • Teresa 5 April 2013 at 11:49 am #

      Had she noticed me, she would have run. It’s only my animals that I worry about with her around.

  3. kkkkaty1 5 April 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    The irony is there…the wildness ..the innocent prey…great haiku and cinquain!

  4. Mama Zen 5 April 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    What gorgeous captures!

  5. brian miller 5 April 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    pow…problem done…it is a problem to us, but it is nature taking its course as well…and they come in conflict at times…wonderful shots you got of it…wow…

  6. Victoria C. Slotto 5 April 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    These are wonderful. We have coyote’s both here, in the California desert and in our home in Reno. Down here, they are fearless. We can be in the driving range practicing golf and they will just stroll across as if they owned the place. Many of us, when walking dogs early morning or at dusk, carry a golf club just in case. And yet, it always thrills me to see them.

  7. S Jayanth 5 April 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    a peaceful revenge. brilliant!
    And thank you so much for reading my haiku and giving me such kind words. :)

  8. Tony Maude 5 April 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    We come in peace; shoot to – record for posterity! Lovely photos; hope your animals are all safe.

  9. Grace 5 April 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    Your pictures are gorgeous ~ Enjoyed your cinquain and haiku ~

  10. Magical Mystical Teacher 5 April 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    When you live on a farm, you do what you have to do to protect your livestock.

    Fiery Desert Birds

  11. WabiSabi 5 April 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    That coyote is beautiful! I’m glad you only shot him with your camera…. on the other hand will he come back every day now? Nature! I love your haiku about Miranda!

    Green Flame

    • Teresa 5 April 2013 at 9:05 pm #

      My son tells me that if it is scared off, it won’t come back. They really do try to avoid people. I’ll be ready tomorrow morning!

  12. readinpleasure 5 April 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    lovely romantic haiku on fire

  13. ramblingsfromamum 5 April 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    I am SO glad the shot was with your camera, for though she killed – he/she is magnificent. Loved the Haiku…on the souls window…. stunning

  14. zongrik 5 April 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    coyotes sure are scary and they have a very hard life too!!

  15. mindlovemisery 6 April 2013 at 12:07 pm #

    I love the forms you used awesome poems! And the photo is amazing. I had an experience in the mountains with a red wolf, He came right up to me and walked with me for a long while before running off. I never attempted to touch him naturally but he was that close to me, I had to conjure some major zen energy man but it was amazing.

  16. Maggie 6 April 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    Can’t imagine coming face to face with a coyote. Brilliant photos. Adore your last haiku…”soul’s window”. Beautiful words.

  17. Talon 7 April 2013 at 8:35 am #

    I’m glad you picked up your camera, Teresa. Awesome captures! And I’m glad everyone survived the coyote’s visit. We have a lot of them around here. Our dogs keep them at bay, but one day we did have a coyote pup sitting at the front steps, crying for his mama. Needless to say, that was too close for comfort! She came and they wandered off and haven’t been seen since. I didn’t have my camera – it was out for cleaning. Isn’t that always the way? I always feel like something is missing when I can’t automatically pick up and shoot.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

