A Dangerous Walk

13 Apr

Well, today I’m combining three prompts!  First, at NaPoWriMo the suggested prompt was to talk a walk and record our observations in a poem.  D’Verse Poets presented the task of writing about a monster.  Finally, at Real Toads, the task was Accessible Poetry, inspired by Billy Collins.  

coyote sunrise

I’ve heard tales of monstrous

dangers within the wild spaces

between the hills and trees.

Cautiously I begin walking up

one hill and down the next,

listening for sounds of

danger; I only hear the 

woodpecker and the wind,

a blue sky above and below

grass greening where I go.

At the watering hole, I

see evidence of wildlife–

the cloven hooves of a deer,

canine pawprints of coyote.

Nowhere do I see a danger.

Through a copse of trees

where squirrels scold

and drop walnut hulls to

the ground beside my path.

Nearing the end of my walk

I feel foolish for thinking

dangers were lurking within

the wild wood where I walked,

and I returned rested and calm

to the safety of civilization.

squirrel collage

17 Responses to “A Dangerous Walk”

  1. brian miller 13 April 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    we can hope there is no danger out there, but it is when we get lax that it can sneak up on us…we can not let it keep us from the joy of that walk though…i rather like the squirrels personally so i would sit and watch their playfulness a bit…

  2. heidi 13 April 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    I am guilty of letting my imagination run wild while I am walking in the woods and you write about that feeling wonderfully here. It made me smile and was a cool use of the dVerse prompt.

  3. Audrey 13 April 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    Beautiful.

  4. Other Mary 13 April 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Personally, I worry more about the “civilized” monsters! Good write.

  5. Hannah Gosselin 13 April 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    This gentle padding on path with all of this marvelous nature abounding…heaven. I love the line you draw though, the possibility of danger there. Adds a nice facet to your piece, Teresa. :)

  6. mommielamb 13 April 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    My thought too…. that ‘civilization’ is often far more dangerous than the wild wood! But a lovely poem with well done imagery! :-)

  7. Rowan Taw 13 April 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    It can be good to have a bit of danger/adventure in our lives, just as long as are aware and tread carefully. A lovely walk and outcome.

  8. Gemma Wiseman 14 April 2013 at 1:09 am #

    Fears are often our own private monsters! A lovely poetic wander!

  9. Polly Robinson 14 April 2013 at 2:16 am #

    Oh, that ‘evidence of wildlife’ … so often all we see … :)

  10. ramblingsfromamum 14 April 2013 at 2:47 am #

    I am with ‘Other Mary’ I think that the real monsters are those that kill unnecessarily creatures such as you have written about…. but I think maybe that was your point..a twist of who indeed is the stalker – great imagery Teresa.

  11. Grace 14 April 2013 at 7:59 am #

    Thankfully there was no real danger but those squirrels scolding and dropping walnuts are adorable ~ If there is no real danger, the animals and us are at peace ~

  12. lolamouse 14 April 2013 at 10:00 am #

    You’ve obviously never met the squirrels I have around my house! They throw themselves against my glass door to be fed and steal the hummingbird nectar. They’ve stolen and destroyed many a bird feeder too! Very dangerous, indeed!
    I love the witty take on nature’s dangers in your poem. Very Collinsish!

    Thanks for participating in the challenge!

  13. Kerry O'Connor 14 April 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    It sounds like a most enjoyable ramble, all monsters aside.

  14. Bodhirose 14 April 2013 at 2:24 pm #

    Had me on the edge of my seat…waiting for the monster to appear…squirrels are rarely very menacing. I breathed a sigh of relief…

  15. Linda Rogers 14 April 2013 at 9:41 pm #

    I’m glad the poem didn’t take a scary turn. I was a little apprehensive right along with you at the beginning of the walk. LOL

  16. Talon 15 April 2013 at 9:21 am #

    Teresa, what an amazing shot of the coyote! And I loved this poem. I always feel like this when I’m out hiking…listening for the sounds I love and also for the sounds that make you stop in your tracks! :)

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

