A Shakespeare Inspired Triolet

23 Apr

Today, Real Toads is celebrating the Bard by asking us to write a poem inspired by him or his works.  I have long loved his Sonnet 18 (Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?), so that is what I used for my inspiration.  At NaPoWriMo, the challenge is to write a triolet.  I thought this form would be perfect for a Shakespeare inspired poem.  I’m also sharing this for the open link at d’Verse Poets.

flower and sheet music

Your love is like the warmth of spring;

new life you draw from winter’s rest.

My joyful heart a song does sing.

Your love is like the warmth of spring

more precious than the wealth of kings.

I hold you close within my breast.

Your love is like the warmth of spring;

new life you draw from winter’s rest.

   ***

28 Responses to “A Shakespeare Inspired Triolet”

  1. heidi 23 April 2013 at 9:24 am #

    Your poem is lovely. You did a wonderful job with the prompts. The line “I hold you close within my breast” seems to be the heart of this poem for me.

  2. Sherry Marr 23 April 2013 at 9:36 am #

    This has a wonderful lilt to it…….a beautiful triolet!

  3. (@) 23 April 2013 at 9:40 am #

    I love the refraining line, Your love is like the warmth of spring ~

    Good work on the form as well ~

    Grace

  4. Hannah Gosselin 23 April 2013 at 10:19 am #

    Oh!! The rhyme for this is perfect!! Such a fresh breath! :)

  5. Susan 23 April 2013 at 11:21 am #

    Delightful! And a positive take on the warmth of spring which we cherish when we feel it. Wonderful repetition and rhyme which is gentle and loving.

  6. Polly Robinson 23 April 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    … a delicious triolet :)

  7. JInksy 23 April 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    SWeet! :)

  8. Sharp Little Pencil 23 April 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    I am not good with forms, and my admiration shines upon everyone who creates a triolet or any other form… This is beautiful not only in form but in content. Simply done, sweetly rendered. I broke the rules and posted two, but the funny one shows up first on my blog.

    Thanks for a breath of spring… summer… Amy

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) 23 April 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    I love this triolet.
    Wonderful repeated lines. Just like all triolets its like a song…

  10. Timoteo 23 April 2013 at 4:02 pm #

    Man, that’s sweet.

  11. Voyages Vistas Vino 23 April 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    This poem made me smile. That in itself is the beauty of this poem. Inspiring indeed.

    Cheers,

    Mark Butkus

    • aprille 23 April 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      Triolet, now let me see, how does that go?
      I know I wrote one just a few days ago, but have already forgotten the details. After an entire alphabet of form, my head is in a spin.
      Yours sounds lovely. A sonnet inspired triolet, now there’s a task.

      • aprille 23 April 2013 at 4:33 pm #

        Ah, confusing tritina with triolet. Reading yours again, and love that pattern with your repeated lines fitting so naturally.

  12. brian miller 23 April 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    it is a beautiful thing when love can draw out that warmth and pull us forward from spring…smiles..lovely form as well…

  13. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly) 23 April 2013 at 6:03 pm #

    Beautifully romantic

  14. Kay Davies 23 April 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    “the warmth of spring”…so much needed, so much appreciated, so much loved.
    You’ve done wonders with a few lines here, Teresa, so beautifully.
    K

  15. Helen Dehner 23 April 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    Triolet … the word rests on my tongue, not wanting to leave. What a great poem you have composed for us today!

  16. Truedessa 23 April 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    This is a very lovely poem and the picture goes so well with it. A nice mix.

  17. M. J. Joachim 23 April 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    That is so pretty! I really enjoyed reading this poem!

  18. Margaret 23 April 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    More precious than the wealth of kings

    so true… love is priceless.

  19. claudia 24 April 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    smiles…hold him close…it’s precious to have someone who can give so much warmth…

  20. johnallenrichter 24 April 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Lovely form, lovely words…. Really enjoyed reading this and can appreciate the fun you had squeezing it into perfection…. Well done….

    • Lindy Lee 24 April 2013 at 4:14 pm #

      A loving triolet; you aced the prompt…

  21. Chazinator 24 April 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Lovely and musical. You have really brought the spirit of the poem to life, letting us see the function of form in all its passion.

  22. Yousei Hime 25 April 2013 at 9:09 am #

    Triolet is actually more intimidating to me than sonnet. How nicely this one flows and shifts.

  23. Todd Alan Kraft 25 April 2013 at 9:55 pm #

    I tried a triolet and it didn’t come out nearly as nice as yours. It sounds so professional when you do it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jamming on Triolet and Love | Two Voices, One Song - 23 April 2013

    [...] A Shakespeare Inspired Triolet (razzamadazzle.wordpress.com) [...]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

