Anagram Farewell

24 Apr

Talk about challenging!  At NaPoWriMo this morning, we were directed to write a poem by putting our name in an anagram generator.   That generated quite the interesting list of words.  I also decided to combine this with the challenge at Real Toads where we were to write a hello and/or good-bye poem.  I’ve italicized the words that came from the anagrams.

tarot card

ripe pear from tree

sweet spirea scent

rest near ancient spire

entrap sprite and siren

with sepia praise

repeat Pan’s rite of sin

nip and tease at

nape of naked neck

enter garden’s gate

pant and rut till spent

musky rape seed in air

rest on bed of sweet pea

then spin star anise

to  part eastern sky

tern preens and prates

her passionate rant

from aspen grove

sea tears near spent

as lovers must part 

11 Responses to “Anagram Farewell”

  1. aprille 24 April 2013 at 11:32 am #

    What delicious combinations were lurking in your name. Sepia praise for your moniker,
    Smashing ingredients for poetry. I hate to think what I will end up with when I try.

  2. Kay Davies 24 April 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    Wow, the anagram generator really loved your name, didn’t it? So many poetically-inclined words, Teresa. This is great!
    How lovely to “rest on bed of sweet pea” or to watch a tern preen!
    K

  3. Susan 24 April 2013 at 1:34 pm #

    These two prompts fit together very well for both the hello and goodbye. I put my name in earlier and groaned at the choices–which didn’t take me to herbs and animals but to odd sea leavings. Maybe I’ll try again. Meanwhile, thank you for picking up this challenge and leaving a tale of great action and imagery.

    • Teresa 24 April 2013 at 1:43 pm #

      I also had perinea in there, and when I addd my middle name, I got pantyliner. :-) I was very happy with a lot of the words though.

  4. Kathie 24 April 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    I love the image you used with your poem, as well as the use of language.

  5. Helen Dehner 24 April 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    You were quite brave to tackle this one! Very nice.

  6. kkkkaty1 24 April 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    Something I haven’t tried…excellent and smooth sounding, fun poem.

  7. margaretbednar 24 April 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    The image and words remind me of a dream.

  8. Julia of A Dose of Jules 24 April 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    this is sooo beautiful and well done…… and I love the image.

  9. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly) 25 April 2013 at 12:20 am #

    I agree…image and words seem to be from a dream. Beautiful!

  10. Sharp Little Pencil 25 April 2013 at 12:58 am #

    Oh man, the anagram generator sounds like a hoot. I shudder to think how much material I’ll get out of my full name!

    Your combination of prompts worked well, very well. Nothing was forced or felt shoved in out of necessity to simply use the words. This was quite an achievement, hon. Thanks so much, Amy

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

