One More Time

10 Feb

Sharing with the open link for Real Toads and d’Verse Poets.  This is not a work of non-fiction, but sadly it’s inspired by the recent losses of two families I know.

***

just one more time to say “I love you,”
and to see your loving face,
brown eyes, same as mine,
reflecting a father’s love

wrinkles and graying hair,
I think I may have caused
more than a few of those
before I grew up and moved away

thinking back I remember
the kisses you used to cure
a scraped elbow or  bruised knee;
later to mend my broken heart

all those times you caught me
stern voice; mouth set harsh
grounding me out of love;
if only I’d realized back then

you walked me down the aisle
trusting another man to love me
always making him a bit nervous
afraid to hurt your baby girl

I’ll never forget your look of joy
holding your first grandchild
more kisses to fix bumps and bruises
that was just your way

I wished so hard to grow up
never thought it meant your aging
when did you become so old?
never thought about this day

brown eyes same as mine
reflecting a father’s love
just one more time, I’d say “I love you,”
if I could see your loving face

17 Responses to “One More Time”

  1. hedgewitch 10 February 2014 at 9:16 am #

    A profound sense of love and time passing in this, Teresa. We just don;t realize what growing up means when we are young, but then again, it gives us a chance to appreciate and pass on the love we’ve been given. I esp like the brown eyes motif in this–they make it very warm and real.

  2. Kathryn Dyche Dechairo 10 February 2014 at 9:37 am #

    Having lost my own father I found this such an emotional read. Love so beautifully expressed.

  3. Mama Zen 10 February 2014 at 9:41 am #

    This is really moving, Teresa.

  4. Susan 10 February 2014 at 12:03 pm #

    Your poem moved me as it showed time spread out in different speeds. I am retired and my dad is really old and i never saw it coming.

  5. Laura Hegfield 10 February 2014 at 12:13 pm #

    So poignant. My parents are still living, but I see the changes of aging each time I see them as it is only a few times a year due to physical distance. My heart goes out to you in the ache of missing your father.

  6. Sherry Blue Sky 10 February 2014 at 1:33 pm #

    Poignantly and beautifully written – what a wonderful picture of true fatherhood………sad for the families who have lost such good men. Great write! Loved it.

  7. Kim Nelson 10 February 2014 at 2:48 pm #

    Sometimes the sense of loss never lessens, but transforms in a way that enables us to continue.

  8. claudia 11 February 2014 at 2:47 pm #

    tears… it’s so tough to lose someone who cared so well for you all your life..

  9. brian miller 11 February 2014 at 2:51 pm #

    whew….the loss comes through heavy in this…the memories of times together…the desire to see them just one more time…you got me…my eyes are wet…smiles.

  10. Pamela Beckford 11 February 2014 at 3:22 pm #

    What a lovely, yet sad, thought. I’ve thought these thoughts with my own father

  11. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) 11 February 2014 at 3:31 pm #

    Somehow… we will all live on.. still we often realize to late that the one we loved are no longer with us.. and we so wish all the thing we should have said… lovely poem

  12. Grace 11 February 2014 at 5:08 pm #

    This is so touching, really moved me ~

  13. Linda Kruschke 11 February 2014 at 6:40 pm #

    Beautiful! I lost my dad 19 years ago and this brought back memories, both happy and sad. Peace, Linda

  14. Morgan 11 February 2014 at 7:11 pm #

    OH so Beautiful!!!

  15. rosross 12 February 2014 at 2:07 am #

    A poignant honouring.

  16. tigerbrite 12 February 2014 at 10:24 am #

    The eyes the window t the soul, such love you have seen in them.

  17. Jim 15 February 2014 at 2:10 pm #

    :) That’s sad, Teresa. Both my parents have passed. For a while it seemed strange not to have a mom. Same was for Dad eight years later.
    I do find that the older I get the faster time moves forward.
    ..

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

