Winter Shroud

3 Mar

snow against window

 

day after day
layer upon layer
snow blankets the ground
cold chilling the bones

frosted window
burying future hopes
beneath a white shroud
Mother Nature’s frigid grasp
killing spring’s new life

snowdriftSadly, this latest polar vortex is having a horrible impact on farmers’ livestock.  This is the calving season, and it’s nearly impossible to have calves survive when they are born in this horrible cold.  My Norma Jean is due any day, but I’ve told her to keep her legs crossed and tail down for another week.  I hope she listens.

Sharing at the open link for Real Toads.

10 Responses to “Winter Shroud”

  1. humbird 3 March 2014 at 11:03 am #

    Hope your Norma Jean will be okay…the spring is close….

  2. Susan 3 March 2014 at 11:12 am #

    I ached as I was reading, thinking how often the snow cover is what life needs to be born in the spring. But when I read your calving knowledge, I reread and saw the shroud. Too much of anything can be poison. I am now thinking of our extended winter in a new way.

  3. Sherry Blue Sky 3 March 2014 at 12:03 pm #

    I, too, worry about all animals, including the wild ones, in such weather. This winter has been a tough one in much of North America. I hope your calf arrives safely and survives……….loved the images that go with your poem so well.

  4. Jinksy 3 March 2014 at 12:40 pm #

    Your snow is at least beautiful to look at, but the floods UK has been suffering have no such saving grace… Good luck with Norma Jean…

  5. Mama Zen 3 March 2014 at 12:48 pm #

    Crossing my fingers for Norma Jean!

  6. The Transcanada Poet 3 March 2014 at 4:03 pm #

    as I shiver and grumble..this winter has been hard on all of us… livestock must be really suffering…my hear goes out to those that farm.. it is not an easy occupation to begin with…

  7. Kenia Cris 3 March 2014 at 7:05 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear about Norma Jay, hope she makes it. :/ It’s the lack of rain that has been causing problems to farmers down here in Brazil.

    Kiss.

  8. grapeling 3 March 2014 at 11:16 pm #

    good luck – dang ~

  9. Brendan 4 March 2014 at 4:07 am #

    Nature does as She must, and sometimes with an indifferent cruelty … if only our hearts were so big. Legs crossed, tail down.

  10. Sumana Roy 4 March 2014 at 6:59 am #

    hope spring’s new life survives….

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

