Waiting

7 Mar

wpid-20140307_083052 ewI sit
silently
counting
the tick
and tock
of the clock,
a metronome
marking
the passing
moments
of my life,
and waiting
for the
freedom
that comes
with the
magic mark
heralding
a weekend
away from
here and now.
Sitting.
Staring.
Blank eyes
wondering
why, oh, why
do I wait
alone with
nothing
to do?

Yep.  Spring parent-teacher conferences.  In high school special education, you don’t get a lot of parents to talk to.  But I’m putting my time in and sharing with G-Man for Friday Flash 55.

6 Responses to “Waiting”

  1. hedgewitch 7 March 2014 at 9:48 am #

    Sort of like being in suspended animation! Very vivid and the structure really works well to enforce the feel of that slow, annoying trickle of time through the hourglass.

  2. G-Man 7 March 2014 at 12:48 pm #

    I never missed an chance to speak to one of my kids teachers
    They see them differently than we do
    Loved your Spring Break 55
    Thanks for playing, Thanks for the great effort and thought you take
    each week to always create a Top Notch story
    Have a Kick Ass Week-End

  3. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) 7 March 2014 at 3:05 pm #

    Ah.. and parents don’t dare to meet the teacher.. truth hurts eh?

  4. Grace 7 March 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    I think I have those dialogues like twice a year ~ I didn’t know that its the case with special education classes ~

    • Teresa 7 March 2014 at 7:57 pm #

      All of our students have conferences twice each year. I think special ed parents don’t come to conferences as much because we tend to have more communications throughout the year.

  5. grapeling 7 March 2014 at 7:35 pm #

    sometimes, like wind whistling through the classroom ~

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

