Macro Poem and Flashback

12 Mar

I’ve been looking for an excuse to share a couple of my macro shots of the flowers I bought to pretend spring has arrived.  Lucky for me the challenge at d’Verse Poets is to write a micro poem inspired by macro photography.

lily macro

stamen and pistol
food for buzzing  bumble bee
flowers in my world

I’m also linking to Real Toads today, where the challenge is to write a narrative poem using flashback.

Sitting at my desk,
students quietly working,
I stare at the computer
pretending to check e-mail.
My mind drifts away
from the mundane classroom
back to the morning.
      the blaring alarm clock
     silenced by a strong arm
     reaching across my chest,
     his musky scent lingering,
     urging my whole body awake
     gently reminding me of night’s
     passions spent and pure
     promises of more to come,
    a lifetime of devoted love
     lying in bed next to me.
I secretly twirl the shiny new
diamond ring on my left hand;
then jolted back to the present,
a noisy jumble of teenage
voices, laughter, and groans
mingling with the foul odor of
“Miss Hale, Jesse farted!”

Engagement Ring

23 Responses to “Macro Poem and Flashback”

  1. hedgewitch 12 March 2014 at 6:28 pm #

    Ah, the sublime meets the all-too-real in this tale of that moment in time where we flash back to whatever pleases us most to escape some of the clutter and mundane trivia that would otherwise drive us round the bend. Lovely photo up top of the lily, too, Teresa.

  2. Brian Miller 12 March 2014 at 7:00 pm #

    that is a lovely shot….
    looking forward to a few more flowers in my world..
    i see them poking up but they dont trust the weather
    any more than i….

  3. shanyns 12 March 2014 at 7:24 pm #

    Loving your ring and bring brought back to earth by a fart and teenagers – a hard landing!

    Oh I love your photo, and thanks for sharing it with that well done micro poem.

    • Teresa 12 March 2014 at 7:36 pm #

      I don’t have a ring. I had to ask a co-worker to pose for that shot. :-)

      • shanyns 12 March 2014 at 7:37 pm #

        oh :-)

  4. Sherry Blue Sky 12 March 2014 at 7:37 pm #

    Such a beautiful ring, and flashback……….loved how we got snapped back to earth much as you did with the teenage shenanigans! Such is life! I enjoyed this!

  5. Grace 12 March 2014 at 7:40 pm #

    Love the macro shot, I can’t wait for the buzzing bees & flowers ~

    I smiled at the second one, ha ~

  6. Marian 12 March 2014 at 9:04 pm #

    aw, love this! very lovely and loving, then a great punch line. well done.

  7. Jim 12 March 2014 at 9:46 pm #

    :) Such a pretty poem, Teresa. I loved the mushy part. Mrs. Jim and I have going for us one thing with your poet in common, the sharing of the alarm clock. She had it for the first thirty years of our marriage and I’ve had it the last eleven.

    Your writing was so neat, the picture clinched it, “I was listening to a newlywed!” This is how I imagined working would be for one. Hard to keep the mind on the job.

  8. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly) 12 March 2014 at 10:02 pm #

    Nothing like gas to slap us back into reality…lol Love it!!

  9. rmp 12 March 2014 at 10:04 pm #

    the first is quite perfect. the second made me blush a bit…but the ending stole it away. nice verses.

  10. Patricia A. McGoldrick 12 March 2014 at 10:39 pm #

    Daydreaming can lead to all sorts of distraction. Reality always bring us back. :)

  11. claudia 13 March 2014 at 12:00 am #

    oh i cannot wait until they offer their nectar to the bees again… i love watch them drinking and collecting… spring is so close… sigh

  12. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) 13 March 2014 at 4:38 am #

    AH what a great shot.. yes I long for the bumble-bees — alas it comes in May here…

  13. Kerry O'Connor 13 March 2014 at 8:24 am #

    Reading your poem has left me wondering how many times a day we flashback to earlier moments in the day, week, month… life. I’m sure it happens so often we don’t even notice. This intimate flashback gives us a peek into our own lives, and relationship with the past.

  14. Mama Zen 13 March 2014 at 8:25 am #

    This is so clever, sexy, and funny! Love this!

  15. Susan 13 March 2014 at 3:20 pm #

    Two poems in one! The mini/macro is an aha and longing experience with its photo and all of the year we have to look forward to. The second gave me grins and then a laugh at the end. I was a teacher who had private moments too, flashbacks and some flash forwards too. The kids are so funny.

  16. Mark Kerstetter 13 March 2014 at 4:58 pm #

    Nice how you turned table and have the teacher daydreaming in class!

  17. othermary 13 March 2014 at 9:18 pm #

    Hahaha – what a way to come back to reality! Funny!

  18. Talon 13 March 2014 at 10:33 pm #

    Love the macro, Teresa, and love the flashback. Darn people for intruding on our lovely reflective moments. Hope all is well with you and the farm. :)

  19. grapeling 15 March 2014 at 11:09 am #

    laughing! so glad I visited – a great way to start the day, with a smile. thanks ~

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wordpress Blog Post On Macro Poem And Flashback - Wordpress Blogs .NET - 16 March 2014

    […] Macro Poem And Flashback March 12th, 2014 — “I’ve been looking for an excuse to share a couple of my macro shots of the flowers I bought to pretend spring has arrived. Lucky for me the challenge at d’Verse Poets is to write a micro poem inspired by macro photography. stamen and pistol food for buzzing bumble bee flowers in my world I’m […]” 22 Comments […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

