Home » You Capture » In the Kitchen

In the Kitchen

This past week, my kitchen has looked like a food processing center.  I had a sink full of sliced cucumbers.

With the help of Mrs. Dash, they were turned into the dill pickle slices that my son wanted.

The okra went into the freezer to make yummy vegetarian gumbo this winter.

I was so happy to have beautiful sunshine coming in the window and shining on the tomatoes.

They were combined with bell peppers and all kinds of other things to make spaghetti sauce.

It is so yummy.  I love to see the jars filling up the shelves in the basement.

Some tomatoes were combined with hot peppers and used to make salsa.

The book I use for my salsa recipe is one of the best canning books I’ve ever seen (I should be getting paid for this, but I’m not).  It is now out of print, so if you ever see it on e-bay or a flea market, buy it!

I still had goat’s milk to do something with, so I made delicious raspberry yogurt.

This post is for You Capture.  To see other posts, visit I Should Be Folding Laundry.

15 thoughts on “In the Kitchen

  1. Wow, great pictures. I love the canning, something I miss doing. As a kids my mom canned and I helped. When she died, I grabbed all her gear in hopes to carry on but sadly haven’t. You have inspired me to at least make her famous pickles!

    Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Oh dear…I have a bunch of cucumbers sitting on my kitchen counter that need to be turned into pickles…and yet I just have not been able to get motivated to slice everything. 😦 Maybe this week-end. Your stuff looks GREAT!!! Yum on the salsa!!

  3. You have been busy and industrious! Everything looks glorious! There’s nothing like opening a jar in the middle of winter and getting a taste of summer back. 🙂

    • Thanks. If I get really ambitious, I have a lot more sitting here begging to made into yummy foods. Otherwise I have a lot of birds that like to eat them too!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

