Home » poetry » Moon Over the Corn

Moon Over the Corn

The full moon rises over the cornfield.

She marks the passage of time

From the sprouting of tiny seeds

To way more than knee high

By the fourth of July.

Tassels and ears suddenly appear as

Each stalk soars towards the sky.

The lush rich green disappears, and

The leaves begin to rustle like paper.

As the latest full moon makes

Her ascent over the golden field,

It will be time for the fall harvest.

This has been submitted to One Shot Wednesday.  Visit their site at One Stop Poetry for many more excellent poems.

30 thoughts on “Moon Over the Corn

  1. I love to think of the passage of time. Each Harvest moon sees a new season. Lives are different yet life is in many ways the same.

    I am loving the autumn poetry

    Thanks for sharing this delight with One Shot

    Harvest Moon Smiles

  2. one of my most favourite things, even at my age it still excites me is seeing the moon during the day..dont know why..maybe because its just not right……a great poem..thanks for sharing with osw..cheers pete

  3. Each stalk soars towards the sky and my happiness with each word grew with the way you have painted a beautiful harvest…. thanks for sharing liked it…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Connect with me on Twitter at @VerseEveryDay to read one verse everyday on life, love and longing…

    • I loved this. I grew up in an area where there were many grains and I loved to drive out this time of year and see them in their glory. Beautiful images. Thanks, Gay (@beachanny)

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

