Home » Fiction » Mag 34

Mag 34

I looked at the lantern sitting in the window.  It always made me a little sad.  The well worn lamp had been passed down to me from my grandfather.  It brought back memories of the nights we would walk to the creek.  He would have fishing poles in one hand and the lantern in the other.  He had a reputation for being the best at catching catfish.  Everyone wondered how he could always come away with his fill of fish every time, but he wouldn’t tell.  But when we would walk to the creek, he would talk with his slow deep drawl, and he would share his secrets with me.  “Two things,” he would say, “blood bait and wait until after dark.”  I would carry the small canning jar with the chicken liver for our bait.  “You see, it will fool the fish into thinking the sun is coming up and the fish will come to say good morning.”  I always felt a bit sad at losing my grandpa and fishing partner whenever I saw that lantern.  At the same time, I was happy to bring it down from its place in the window to pass these secrets on to my own son.

Thanks to Willow for the wonderful picture as a prompt.  Visit Magpie Tales to read more posts.

18 thoughts on “Mag 34

  1. smiles. spent plenty of time fishing growing up…i like the thought of passing down the stories though as i try to do that with my boys….nice magpie!

  2. Not only lovely memories, but a lesson from your grandpa that you can use today. Light that lamp for him. Hold it high in your mind and your heart. It will fool him; he will come to say Good Morning.

    Touching story, and such a wonderful memory to cherish.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

