Home » Saturday Centus » Saturday Centus

Saturday Centus

This was written for Jenny Matlock’s Saturday Centus.  She has generously given us the picture as a prompt to write a story in up to 100 words.  For more of these short stories, click here.

The Choice

I was trying to find the perfect pumpkin, like so many others that came to the pumpkin farm.  Most people went for the nice, round ones.  Some preferred the taller ones.  I too was thinking about my perfect pumpkin, but then I noticed the one that had the funny shape.  The back looked like it had been in some freak accident.  I didn’t think anybody would want such a pumpkin.  It reminded me of Charlie Brown’s Christmas tree, and I knew it would be going home with me as a way to celebrate the diversity in all of God’s beings.

16 thoughts on “Saturday Centus

  1. I love the idea of a Charlie Brown punkin. That totally made me smile.

    I enjoyed your use of the picture. I’m always intriqued with all the different directions everyone goes.

    Thanks for linking.

  2. I love the reference to Charlie Brown’s Christmas tree! What a lovely use of the prompt, with such an important message.

  3. What a wonderful idea – taking home the unwanted one. We should all do more of that. This is a sweet and sensitive reminder that differences don’t mean disconnections.

    Thanks……….cj

  4. What an interesting take on the prompt! I love how you likened it to Charlie Brown’s tree. Even a deformed pumpkin deserves its moment to shine! Nicely done!

  5. I like things with character and it’s the imperfections that give things (and people) their character. I like that you celebrate that in a story about pumpkins! 🙂

  6. Oh nice comparison to Charlie B tree…you captured the same feeling. I always have loved the emotion about that scraggly tree!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

