Lonely

I stand in the darkness wondering

if I am the only one gazing up at the moon,

the blinking lights of a tower pointing her out.

The silence is penetrating, as there isn’t

even the sound of a cricket chirring.

Moon’s round shape reminds

me of a cyclops eye gazing down,

half closed in isolated boredom.

Does she wonder why I stand here

by myself gazing back at the single eye?

Two solitary beings separated by miles,

each wondering about the other.

I extend a hand, wanting to draw her down

to share my isolated spot on earth,

but she remains in her heavenly home

and I remain lonely.

 

This is for One Single Impression.  The topic this week is “lonely.”  Be sure to visit and read other poems on this topic.

13 thoughts on “Lonely

  1. worlds apart, souls in two different worlds, i could feel the pain and the loneliness, coz I am often like that… 😦 could really relate!

    very nicely penned verses!

  2. Yes, I like this poem. No hyperbole, no saccharine wordiness, a simple poem giving immediate access to your thoughts when writing it.

    Well done.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

