Home » Magpie Tales » Magpie

Magpie

Thanks to Willow for the wonderful picture prompt.  Be sure to visit Magpie Tales for more stories and poems from her photo.

A blessed event turns sad
One baby already we  had
Our feelings were bliss and joy
Another child to go with our little boy
As this second birth drew near
We felt an increase in fear
The labor and birth were so bad
Towards my God I became mad
I dropped on my knees to the ground
Cursing and yelling with my fists I pound
Finally arrived our daughter all blue
Her death we knew was true
My wife was torn and bleeding
With God I began pleading
Keep her here on this Earth
Never again will I feel mirth
Still in bed she was the next day
When our daughter, we sent away
The angels came and took our girl so dear
Lucky my wife is still with me  here
15 thoughts on “Magpie

    • At that time, it was not unusual. Often, you’d find children that were a year old without a name because they wanted to see if they were going to live before naming them, or they’d give a family name to a couple of kids in case one died.

  1. so sad. Very well written and although it is a sad tale, I enjoyed it very much.

    thank you

    And thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a kind word on my poem The Mirror.

  2. Oh, such a sad tale. My mother lost a baby at 8 months pregnant, and she had the same fears going on. Lack of movement. She will never forget what happened and at 94 holds a baby doll in her arms. Bless you.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

