Home » Haiku Heights » Samhain

Samhain

I seem to be having a hard time finding time to write and post to my blog and read and comment on everyone else’s blogs, so for this weekend, I’m combing all my posts into one series of poems.  Mystic is the topic for Haiku Heights.  Fancy is the topic for One Single Impression.  Halloween or Trick-or-Treat is the topic for Jingle’s Poetry Potluck.

Mystic

Gazing into fire

I ask the fates to reveal

The future is ours

communing with the dead

spirits crossing through the veil

mystical Samhain

****************

Fancy

Wearing my blackest dress

and ceremonial jewelry,

Fancy linens and

good china on the table.

An elegant repast

fit for a queen.

We sit an extra place

for the spirits of the dead.

Food and drink to nourish

the souls of loved ones departed.

In silence we eat lest

we offend our honored guests

Thanks to the Lord and Lady:

Blessing to those who have passed

beyond the veil.

****************

Finally the acrostic I wrote as an example for my students.

Haunted houses

Advertised on the radio;

Leaves falling all around.

Laughing, joking and planning.

Our pumpkin waits until

We can carve a crazy face.

Eventually our costume is done.

Excitement builds!

Now is the time to trick-or-treat!

38 thoughts on “Samhain

  1. Hi. I enjoyed all your poems, but particularly the acrostic where you just totally captured the mood build-up. If I’ve said this once in a comment today I’ve said it a thousand times: the syllable counts in some of the haiku are a bit out … or is it due to pronunciation in other countries??? e.g. I get 18 syllables in : communing with the dead spirits crossing through the veil mystical Samhain. Just saying….

  2. Awesome poetry and images. I love how you wove all the prompts together. I never seem to be able to do this. Wonderful…

    Melanie

  3. I fell in love with your Mystic poem… it was just brilliant!
    And the acrostic.. WOW!! How clever of you to have done that for Halloween, Teresa! It captured the spirit of the festival so well! Thanks a bunch for linking it with poetry potluck!

  4. I liked the Acrostic!

    A slight thing I’d like to point out with one of your Haiku though.

    co-mmu-ning-with-the-dead

    That line has 6 syllables rather than 5. S:

  5. Hi Teresa,
    visiting you for the first time and what an occassion to be here!
    Just loved all three pieces especially your acrostic.
    Very intelligent teacher you make, I can imagine!
    Happy Halloween dear..:D

  6. hi Teresa, I love that imagery about spirits crossing through the veil.. and of the festival being mystical! beautiful set of haiku 😀

    Loved this Halloween themed post! 🙂 the acrostic is so well written too!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

