Home » poetry » Bully

Bully

It’s not hard to understand

why I keep bullying–

it works!  I get my way.

Give me your lunch money,

I get my milk or I get to

beat the shit out of you;

either way I win.

It’s not my fault that someone

made me mad.  You can’t do

anything to me; I have a

diagnosis.  I’m ADHD and

I forgot to take my meds.

He looked at me wrong.

They called me a name,

so I prey on someone else.

Spic, Fag, Nigger–

I’m afraid of you because

you are different; I’ll

call you names and make

you hate yourself; Then I

gain all the power; Kill yourself

and that’s even better. I win.

Nobody can touch me;

I’m the bully because it works.

You can’t do anything to

me because I am special.

Feel sorry for me.

Pretend you don’t see what

I do because you are

afraid to make me mad.

You should be afraid.  I

hate myself, and I’ll do

anything to feel better:

I call you names.

I punch you in the face.

I talk about you.

Go cry sissy, so I can

feel better.

I bully because it works.

***

This is linked to One Shot Wednesday.  Visit some of the greatest poets on the web–read, comment write and link up your own poem.

13 thoughts on “Bully

  1. I think you really nailed the reality behind bullying. It carries over to adulthood, too. I’ve had co-workers like this child and you just know, down deep, they are fragile.
    Victoria

  2. Good golly, Teresa! This was ONE STRONG SHOT!! It really hit me hard!
    I am really wondering who’s the victim here… what a sad tale! Or should I say, a sad reality?
    A really powerful choice of words too! Very nice…

  3. a bully’s life is not easy either – often it’s a case of the bullied at home becoming the bully in the schoolyard, or the powerless getting a taste of power… a vicious cycle

    nice post

  4. Bullying–it’s painful on both sides. And it’s sad that for some that is the only way they think they can get through life — with a chip on their shoulder and a vile attitude about everything and everyone.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

