Home » Magpie Tales » First Snow

First Snow

image courtesy of Willow at Magpie Tales

The first snow of the year usually brings a smile to my face.  It’s been months since we’ve had that delicious crispness in the air and a blanket of white over the land, and I’m always returned to an excited childlike awe.  This year was even more special.  I came home to see the front steps of my very first home blanketed, with only the pawprints of the cat visible.  It wasn’t just the cripness of the air I was breathing that left me short of breath.  Thinking back to all the work of saving and going to the banks and working with the realtor, I realized how completely grateful I was at that moment.  The first snow of my first home is a beautiful sight I’ll never forget.

11 thoughts on “First Snow

  1. A moment to be cherished indeed! The sense of fulfillment, of achievement and of sweet relief seems to linger for a prolonged moment… and that’s so lovely!
    How nice of you to share this memory with us, Teresa ! Thank you..

  2. A landmark moment. One’s own home, so much of a hassle to achieve, does indeed give a sense that at least some of the hard struggles of life can be won and the victories savored. Thanks for sharing, and taking me back to my own first home, where I’d have been slipping on the ice on one of those pre-formed little concrete step-thingies the builders gave me cut rate in place of real stairs.;-)

  3. The first snow does that to me, too – makes me all butterfly-in-tummy excited. But arriving to the sight of the first snow on the steps of your first home must amplify that feeling by at least l,000 percent!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

