Home » Saturday Centus » The Closet

The Closet

It’s time for Jenny Matlock’s Saturday Centus once again.  This week she has given us the prompt “the bin of tangled up holiday lights” to use exactly as written in a story of 100 words or less (not including the prompt).  Be sure to visit Jenny’s blog for more creative posts based on this prompt.

***

I stood in the doorway of the closet looking at the huge mess.  I couldn’t believe it was that time of the year again.  My plan had been to clean it out before now, but somehow organizing the closet was always getting pushed to the bottom of the to-do list.  Now, I needed all those decorations and they were somewhere in this mess.  After two hours of digging I finally found the bin of tangled up holiday lights, so I could start decorating the tree.  Who knows how long before I uncover my desired Santa hat!  I’ll get this done before next year!  I promise.

24 thoughts on “The Closet

  1. I am totally living that story right now. I wanted to do less decorating this year but sadly my boxes are so disorganized that I have to unpack them all anyway.

    Thanks for a very, very realistic use of the prompt!

  2. Great job with this! A universal problem to be sure, but I have a solution. Why not have everyone adopt the idea of a Christmas light ball! Still have a tree and everything, but instead of untangling lights every year, just add the mess to the ever-expanding Christmas light ball and go get some new lights at Walmart. It could work!

    • I solved the problem by not putting up a Christmas tree, and I did buy a new Santa hat. I thought a new cheap hat would be best since I wanted it for the goats.

  3. Oh, wow! You know me well, don’t you? Not only have I not untangled the lights, I haven’t even gone looking for them yet! Thanks for an enjoyable read which hit very close to home.

    I just posted my story today.Hope you will stop by to read.

    Malisa

  4. Oooh, there is always so much lost in closets! I am sure they all have doors in the back like in the lion the witch and the wardrobe….maybe Aslan is wearing your Santa hat! lol

  5. Why is it so hard to put thigns away neatly at the end of the season…we say we will do better each year…but we don’t, just get ’em shoved in a closet!!!

  6. I have a Santa hat you can borrow. I have more than one. Because I end up buying a new one when I can’t find my old one 😉 Nice job on this!

  7. Growing up, our lights were permanently tangled. We spent half of our decorating time trying to untwist them all.

    Now that I’m married to Dave the magnificent, the lights are tangle-free, carefully wrapped around a special light-holder thingy. (Aren’t I articulate?)

    Okay, so he a little anal. I’ll take it!

    =)

  8. This hit all too close to home! Every year, I promise myself I will have the decorations organized before they go back into storage. And every year, I put it off again! Great take on the prompt!

  9. We haven’t decorated in years and for some strange reason our lights never tangled themselves up from year to year when we did. I feel for you and everyone else who actually has to deal with this. Gah!

  10. I can’t help thinking of National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation and the humungous ball of lights when I think of Christmas lights all messed up. Loved your take on the prompt, Teresa!

    (and good luck with finding the Santa Hat!) 🙂

  11. Heh. Heh. An all too familiar feeling settles over me as I read this. Since we recently moved, I’m proud to say that I don’t have any more of these closets. Yet.

    Kudos on a job well done.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

