Home » poetry » I Am

I Am

When I saw the topic for this week’s Poetry Potluck, I thought about the poem I wrote as an example for my students.  The assignment was to write a poem entitled I Am.  It also gave requirements for each line.  The purpose was to help the teacher get to know the students.  Mine really does tell what I am passionate about, so I am borrowing it from the “About” page of my farm blog.  As a rare treat (to show you how passionate I am about my goats) a picture that actually includes me.

I Am

I am a goat herder, a nature lover, a tree-hugger.

I wonder if goats see in vivid Technicolor or if their lives are grayscale.

I hear the crying of the Earth as we pollute and destroy her natural beauty.

I want to spend my days surrounded by the beauty of the natural world.

I am a goat herder, a nature lover, a tree-hugger.

I pretend my animals are the teachers and ponder the lessons they would teach.

I feel the love Millie has for her new born kid and her entire family circle.

I touch the souls of my loved ones and know their feelings.

I worry about what the world will look like in ten, fifteen, or twenty years.

I cry at the thought of plants and animals being recklessly destroyed.

I am a goat herder, a nature lover, a tree-hugger.

I understand the fear of trying, the sadness of failure, and the joy of success.

I say we can make amazing and wonderful things happen if we put our minds to task.

I dream of soaring with eagles, swimming with fish, and running with cheetahs.

I try to live a green life to inspire others to do the same.

I hope we can change our destructive habits and live in harmony with our Mother Earth.

I am a goat herder, a nature lover, a tree-hugger.

29 thoughts on “I Am

  1. Aww… how sweet is that, Teresa!! I am so sure you remain very loyal to the objects of your interest! I really am VERY SURE of that!

    Love ya heaps, my friend!

  2. Pingback: The Celebrate Blogger of 2010 Awards Nomination Announcement | Jingle

  3. I grew up near a working dairy farm. Used to sing to the cows during milking because Aunt Thelma swore they gave more milk when serenaded!

    Your passion shows, from your love of goats to the tragedy of how humankind despoils the earth, a living, breathing treasure in and of itself.

    Loved this, and found you at Jingle! Amy Barlow Liberatore

  4. Salt of the earth indeed, the picture set the tone of caring and loving for this creature and this offering. Wonderfully woven and carefully filled with love and sorrow at the same time. A fantastic work!

  5. Nice one, Teresa. I would love goats more if they smelled less, but they do have amazing personalities. I also have really hugged trees. 😉 Enjoyed both your poems a lot.

  6. Oh I like this, esp. the line where you say, ‘I dream of soaring with eagles, swimming with fish, and running with cheetahs’ won’t that be a wonderful time.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

