Home » Alphabe-Thursday » Legacy

Legacy

This week Jenny Matlock has assigned us to explore the letter L for Alphabe-Thursday.

Legacy

What do I want my Legacy to be?

That of a sheep following the one in front

no matter where that leads.

Should my Legacy be mousy and timid,

one who sits quietly so as not to rock the boat.

Or do I blow the foghorn and shake things up?

Do I want to be the one in front that others

may see where I go, one who is the leader,

asking for, inspiring, demanding change.

At the end of the day when I go home,

I want to place my head softly on the pillow

and sleep in eternal peace knowing

I took the lead to stand up for what was right.

What do I want my Legacy to be?

I want it known that I fought without fear

the wars that had to be launched;

the battles that had to be won.

Never will I cower in fear, a coward

that crumples to the ground

bloodied, battered and beaten.

Instead I will gather my inner strength

and fight for right until the blessed end.

Never giving up on a cause worth championing,

leading the troops to victory.

Ah, yes.  That will be my Legacy.

***

To read more posts brought to you by the great letter L visit here:

http://jennymatlock.blogspot.com/2010/12/alphabe-thursday-letter-l.html

16 thoughts on “Legacy

  1. I aspire to that too!
    & I so appreciate your comment about doing right by your students and not the parents…
    Peace to you & happy new year!

    • Don’t get me wrong. There are a lot of wonderful parents, but there are a few that hurt their kids more than help them by blaming everyone under the sun for their kid’s behavior and never expecting them to take responsibility for it or making excuses as to why they don’t have to follow rules. Most of the parents I have to work with are great.

  2. Bravo! I was having this exact conversation last night with my nephew. I am going to forward him this well written and thought provoking post.

    Thank you.

    I will be pondering your words.

    A+

  3. I like that you chose legacy for the L. And I really like your idea of what a terrific and honorable legacy you would leave. It takes courage to stand up for what you believe…even in the face of tremendous odds.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

