Home » Friday Flash 55 » A Normal Day

A Normal Day

When I went to town ahead of the blizzard,

I ran into an old acquaintance and found

myself standing in the feed store

listening to an impromptu Pentecostal sermon

and getting a fairly accurate psychic reading

while being empathetic to the chaos of her life.

The store was out of corn.

Just a normal day.

***

This is my contribution to this week’s Friday Flash (Non)Fiction 55. ย Write a story or poem in exactly 55 words and then go tell G-Man.

21 thoughts on “A Normal Day

  1. hah! You never know what awaits you, and what might inspire you… don’t you think!?!?!
    Despite the lack of corn bit, I am sure you “enjoyed” this normal day.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I, too, find the feed store an endless source of inspiration. If it’s not the Pentecostals, it’s the chicken people or the old weird gardeners like me. Enjoyed it much, Teresa. Have a great weekend and a Happy Holiday.

  3. I wonder what your horoscope was for the day in the local newspaper?
    “you are likely today to take a transcendental excursion, and encounter a diversion in search of corn and turn it into a sublime learning opportunity – either that or the store will simply be out of corn.”

    Not an ordinary town you live in…nice 55

    joanny

    • They are still out four days later! Their cracked corn is super clean (no dust), and I use it for giving the goats herbal wormer. I have plenty of their “everyday” feed. My life is never dull.

  4. Ahhh…The Bucolic Life!
    Sitting around the Pickle Barrel rocking and shootin the breeze!
    Loved your 55 Teresa.
    Thanks for playing, and have a Kick Ass Week-End

  5. Feed stores are just amazing that way. You find the oddest things in stock and the strangest encounters.

    Barley. Barley is for whisky. ๐Ÿ™‚ At least, the single malt scotch variety.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

