Home » Alphabe-Thursday » Candles at Christmas

Candles at Christmas

There is a long tradition of fire around Christmas time.  The Yule log was burned to bring good fortunes in the new year.  Candles were burned to invite the sun back with their cheerful flames.

Later, candles were lit to represent the coming of Jesus.  They were used to decorate homes and trees before being replaced by electric lights.  Blessings to all, no matter what holiday you celebrate.

This is my contribution to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday where the theme is holiday blessings.

I am also linking this to Beth’s You Capture at I Should Be Folding Laundry where the theme is Holiday Magic or Lights.

16 thoughts on “Candles at Christmas

  1. Simple refletions, lovely image.

    What a peaceful stop on this little journey of joy through Christmas blessings.

    Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Even though I’m a bit late for Christmas, please accept my fond wishes for a 2011 filled with joy, new adventures and memory making moments.

  2. Beautiful … I enjoy the light of the candles sitting around the house in the evening hours. And the look of the candles flickering in the windows … but for safety’s sake, those ones plug in at our house :0)

  3. I love to eat by candlelight – drink my morning coffee by candlelight or just sit in the living room to listen to music by candlelight. Your photo of the candle is lovely. May your Christmas by filled with light!

  4. Candles can looks very spiritual! I love the beeswax ones found in churches that burn without smoke, and when all the votives are lit.

    Merry Christmas!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

