Home » Alphabe-Thursday » Neurosis

Neurosis

At the risk of looking like a horrible person, I am publishing this neurotic poem for Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.  Please keep in mind that this was written as a way to vent frustrated feelings.  You’ll have to visit elsewhere for a Nice N post.

Neurosis

Wearing my neurosis like a badge,

a blazing scarlet letter on my breast,

I rant and rave and rage for the world to see.

Who cares about decorum, and

who cares about quiet and civility?

I’m the insensitive one that makes my mother cry

and my nephews uncomfortable

because I suggest we do what’s in

her best interest rather than kiss her butt;

upset her with foreclosure and wills,

but how dare we suggest her sister be

responsible for cleaning up her messes!

Let’s lay that responsibility on her mother and son

because she’s afraid her dad, the one who’s bankrolling

her overdue bills, will find out how much she owes.

Her lying husband has no insurance on her,

but how is that a surprise to anyone with a rational brain?

Her boyfriend having a hip replacement tomorrow,

yet she argues she lives where his home is

rather than where her family can care for her.

A lifetime of being the center of attention,

she’s the perfect patient to dote upon all the care.

Just wait until she gets her Facebook so she can

devour sympathies of the entire world wide web

because we know it’s all about her.

10 thoughts on “Neurosis

  1. What an incredible piece of writing. I don’t know if that is neurosis or simply deciding that enabling the entire family is too difficult to sustain for any length of time.

    I read this twice and then sent it to two women who I knew would appreciate it.

    This is one of the most vivid pieces of poetry I’ve read in some time.

    I think this is contest worthy.

    Really, really neat!

    Thank you for sharing it with us on our little journey through Alphabe-Thursday’s letter “N”.

    A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

