Home » d'Verse Poets » The Old Oak Tree

The Old Oak Tree

old oak tree standing tall

branches reaching across the sky

carries the history of a full hundred

years within its massive trunk~

a sapling living among a dense wood

easy to be Earth’s lungs;

harder now as its parent tree

stands as rough hewn supporting

beams in a cattle barn constructed

of strong native wood

warmer winters; stronger storms

harder to sway and be strong

much easier to let go of its roothold

lay across the ground, to give up and die

but steadfast purpose keeps it upright

acorns grown all summer

stolen by a squirrel and stored

within a deep crevasse in its trunk

deer walking beneath seeking

by Richard Schear

shady leaves for summer coolness

shelter from predators in winter

watching year and year as new

babies are born and the old die

a bird nesting in safety in its boughs

how many generations in the past

century have called it home

a whole world depends on the old oak

reaching roots farther down

deeper and deeper into the past

standing tall with branches

growing across the vast sky

This is my contribution to d’Verse poets where the challenge was to really look at something in the natural world around us and try to capture its essence.

I am also linking this to Imaginary Garden with Real Toad’s Sunday Photo Challenge.  The photographer in the spotlight this week is Richard Schear.

12 thoughts on “The Old Oak Tree

    • It was really hard losing my huge trees this past summer. I really need to get a bunch planted to replace all the old, old trees on the farm. Does this mean you are actively looking for a small acreage for you and Darla?

  1. I’m so sorry about the trees you lost. I love them, and just today I was telling my husband how much I want more trees in our yard. He thinks I’m crazy, but I love to plant trees.

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  2. “a whole world depends on the old oak” – I like that. Mature oaks are among the grandest things in the world. You must have a lot of trees where you live if you’ve lost so many. I lived on a street once that was lined on both sides with oaks – incredible.

  3. trees mean so much..i am such a tree hugger…i love nature…we had to take down a large tree at my parents house a year or so ago…so many stories held within its rings…so much life…it had been infested and was dying…sadly…love this…smiles.

    • I lost three big oak trees and a huge cottonwood and several smaller trees this last year. It was such a hard year for the trees. I can honestly say I’ve hugged my trees! It’s always hard when they go.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

