Mother to Son

The challenge at Real Toad’s today was to take the first line of a favorite poem and use it as a jumping off point for your own poetry.  There are so many wonderfule poems out there, but I finally decided to go with Mother to Son by Langston Hughes.

Well son, I’ll tell you:

I wasn’t expecting you

to enter my life,

wasn’t sure I was

ready to tackle

parenthood all alone.

***

I thought times had changed,

but I saw the looks and

heard the comments,

“I know what kind of girl she is.”

They didn’t mean I was being

responsible for my choices.

***

Waiting uncertain, scared and alone,

when you finally arrived~

perfect fingers and toes~

all the doubt disappeared,

and, though new and nervous,

I became a mother forever.

Here’s to my boy.  I love you, Caleb.

Be sure to read more poems at Real Toads.

15 thoughts on “Mother to Son

  1. I love the picture of your son with the dog, first of all. I am a dog lover. I just love all Langston Hughes poetry, but you chose the perfect one for your poem. I appreciated the honesty in your poem, the love. Your son is one lucky your man, and you are one lucky mom.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

