Home » imaginary garden with real toads » Around the Bend

Around the Bend

Whenever I see a picture of a river and trees, I can’t help but think of days gone by, romantic and adventurous and dangerous.  This week’s prompt for Magpie Tales was quick to bring those thoughts to mind.  I’m pretending I don’t see the tops of the buildings in the background. 🙂

Around the ancient river bend

lies future hopes and dreams to tend.

I rushed to meet them without fear;

I beg of you my darling dear, prayers do send.

***

I’m off to find our future life~

Me your husband; you my dear wife.

If I do not return to you

I am under the waters blue; death here is rife.

***

Jealousy, greed and lust rule here,

Our captain a weak profiteer.

Each day I rise with knowing dread

By evening fall I may be dead, without my dear.

***

I’m also submitting this to the open link at Real Toads.  I kind of got carried away with yesterday’s challenge and used the Florette format again.

18 thoughts on “Around the Bend

  1. fantastic stanzas, the final one I found to be particularly strong. enjoyed the read. thanks

  2. “Each day I rise with knowing dread By evening fall I may be dead” … Ah, the joy and hope of a new day dawning. 😉

  3. Ah, we both combined the same two writing prompts. I like the direction you took. The form lends itself well to your romantic subject matter. Well done you!

  4. This is wonderful, Teresa. You make the florette look easier than it is. I read this as a song of farewell of a husband to wife – he to embark on an uncertain journey, she to remain faithfully behind.

  5. smiles…enchanting melody in your verse….and so true…the water carries life and opportunity but also peril…i like his desire to return once he finds it and hope he makes it…smiles.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

