Home » Alphabe-Thursday » Yesterday

Yesterday

This week Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday is up to the letter Y.  Here is my humble offering~a trio of haiku and a bonus poem all about yesterday.

 

yesterday’s calling

pleasant memories lead me

to forget today

***

yesterday’s haunting

visits my sleep with nightmares

neverending fear

***

yesterday is done

today brings a new dawning

live the day fully

Yesterday fades away

into a vivid recreation

that tears me apart.

Insults and transgressions

are magnified;

the good times don’t exist.

I’ll never get over you!

You hurt me; I was helpless

as you weilded your Svengali

powers to turn me into a

hapless victim of your love.

~~~

9 thoughts on “Yesterday

  1. Gosh, nothing can wound us like past memories.

    It’s so hard to let them have so much power.

    But even harder sometimes to let them go!

    This was a very powerful poem.

    Thank you for sharing it.

    A+

  2. What a lovely piece! Today I went to my granddaughter’s college graduation. It seems like only yesterday that she was a sweet little baby! Your words had meaning for me.

  3. wow! some powerful words there, that i am sure we can all relate to … time to let go of those not so pleasant yesterdays …

  4. Hello.
    We cannot go back and change our yesterdays, but we sure can do something about our tomorrows. May your tomorrow be filled with so much love and happiness that you don’t even remember yesterday. Nicely expressed. Thanks for sharing.

    You are invited to Blog Hop Saturday! on June 2nd. Hope you can join the fun!

    href=”http://thoughtsofbeautyinthestillnessofdawn.blogspot.com/2012/05/you-are-perfect-to-me.html”>You Are Perfect To Me

  5. A lovely piece. Yesterday is such a mixed bag. It can hold wonderful memories, but when the memories are filled with pain, it’s good to let go of yesterday.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

