Home » imaginary garden with real toads » Sapphire Queen of the Mid-May

Sapphire Queen of the Mid-May

Today’s challenge at Real Toads is to find a line from a poem that you don’t particularly love. I’m not a big fan of Keats, but I don’t know why.  I borrowed my title line from his poem Fancy .

verdant emerald green grass below,

lush shrubs and trees covered with

leaves, fruit and flowers enfolding,

rain plentiful from the skies above,

citrine yellow sunshine caresses the land.

enter into a celebratory festival of fertility

the sapphire queen of the mid-May

presiding over the activities~

dancing, blessing and conjuring for

an abundant summer harvest,

flitting about from plant to stem to leaf

her gentle kisses coaxing new growth~

buttercup flowers bloom

royal purple buds appear

ruby berries glistening~

greater cause to celebrate this mid-May.

14 thoughts on “Sapphire Queen of the Mid-May

  1. I love the phrase “sapphire queen of the mid-May!” Your poem is a lovely tribute to spring, while I find Keats too overblown and flowery.

  2. keats was a little overdone, with all the effusive curlicues and verbal filigree, but those were the times. rococo poetry, for lack of a better comparison.
    that said, spring is a little rococo itself. and you’ve brought out all the brightest bits.

    shining work,

  3. Citrine yellow, verdant emerald, sapphire queen… Wow, great compliments! We had a goat named Tulip when I was growing up (she was a great milker. Her breed was from the Netherlands) anyway, her absolute favorite food was strawberries. She demolished the patch one spring day when she got loose. I don’t think my dad ever forgave her 🙂

  4. “dancing, blessing and conjuring for

    an abundant summer harvest,

    flitting about from plant to stem to leaf

    her gentle kisses coaxing new growth~”

    I SO love the beautiful language you use to describe pollination here!!! Great poem!

  5. Yes, that’s really weird we both flashed on Keats. i do like him, I just feel he wrote at a time when style was valued over substance–he has both, but sometimes the former obscures the latter. (Apparently he also brings out dryads and may queens, too. 😉 ) I loved your use of color in this, it’s striking and really brings up a picture of the visuals of May in all their early summer glory.

  6. You misspelled “celebratory” in the sixth line.

    This section is my favorite:

    “her gentle kisses coaxing new growth~
    buttercup flowers bloom
    royal purple buds appear
    ruby berries glistening~
    greater cause to celebrate”

  7. Love “citrine yellow sunshine caresses the land” and “gentle kisses coaxing new growth,” especially. I get you. 😉 I’m picky about my Keats.

  8. I really haven’t read a lot of the old poets works. A few famous ones that everyone knows, and a few of the most famous lines because, sometimes I’ve just found them too difficult to understand. So, I can’t say that I have any of them that is a favourite, apart from I do like Rumi and Gibran. LOL
    This is lovely, love the feel of all the new life and colours growing.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

