Home » imaginary garden with real toads » Talking to Karma

Talking to Karma

Walking in my flower garden

I saw a tall imposing figure

and asked who he might be

and was surprised to hear Karma.

***

I asked Karma my question

why oh why does my life

seem filled to overflowing with

such trouble and trials and injustice?

***

Silly foolish girl, of course

you know in this universe

there is the rule of threefold

that guides your life experiences.

***

But nobody had ever

mentioned a rule of threefold

and I begged of him please

to explain this principle.

***

Very simply he stated

that whatever you send

out shall return to

you three times as much.

***

The good and sweet shall

be rewarded with so much

more goodness entering

their lives as is deserving.

***

The one who is mean in

spirit, petty and wicked

will be punished with

more of their own flaws.

***

I don’t understand, I proclaimed! 

There must be a mistake!  I try to

be kind to others and work hard

and be good to people and animals.

***

What have I done to deserve

such demeaning treatment

by those around me at work?

Surely, I’m deserving of good.

***

Think back, he replied with a grin,

beyond what typically your human

brain could possibly remember~

think through time and space.

***

Back to another lifetime I thought,

and it became crystal clear~

I had been myself a mysigonistic

tryant treating all unfairly.

***

At least that must have been the case.

No hope in the here and now. 

 I can only look forward to next time around.

But surely my lesson has already been learned.

***

Threefold, my child, threefold

is the rule and to it the Universe

must adhere.  Continue your path

and reap the rewards next time around.

***

While this might not be good poetry, it is possibly cathartic on this Friday afternoon.  Really, when the challenge is thrown out to show two different perspectives, what else could I do?  Be sure to visit Real Toads for better examples of poems with opposing viewpoints.

12 thoughts on “Talking to Karma

  1. Hmm. SO THAT’S why!
    I kept wondering when my Three Fold Good was coming back!
    😉

    Nicely done…..and a good reminder that we don’t always *see* it coming……..
    😉

  2. I loved your poem! Karma has kicked my ass, in this life time.
    I thought I was good, must of stole a lot of candy and men in my past life.
    I’m enduring a lot of bittersweet in this one~
    Fun to read and ponder 😀

  3. I enjoyed this tale. Your poem has made some good points.

    (You may wish to put a correct link into Real Toads. You linked to a poem you wrote in February. If I see you have put in a corrected link, I will get rid of your incorrect one on Mr. Linky.)

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

