Home » d'Verse Poets » The Voice of Wisdom

The Voice of Wisdom

Her little voice reached my ears,

“I wish we never had bad things happen;

I’d be happy all the time.”

“But little one,” I replied,

“How would you know you were happy?

If you knew no discontent, what

would make you learn new things

and try to improve yourself?

Pain and adversity help us grow.”

***

This is my contribution to G-Man’s Friday Flash 55.  I’m also linking this to d’Verse Poets challenge to write a poem addressing balance.

20 thoughts on “The Voice of Wisdom

  1. So so true. Again, my kids did ask me the same when we were having a truly rough time during and after my divorce. However, now, even before I remarried, they understand that LIFE is like that.It sure takes a lot of WISDOM.

    Bravo! Awesome 55! Love it!

    Have you a truly blessed weekend.

    hugs
    shakira

    Mine is here

  2. This write is my MOTTO. There is no light without the darkness, there is no warmth without the chill. There is no happiness without sorrow. You nailed it.

  3. Just like I’m the Poor to somebody’s Rich!!
    Yin Yang…Great Balance.
    Loved your 55 Teresa…
    Thanks for playing, and have a Kick Ass Week-End

  4. Yes, pain does make us grow… Unfortunately many times we don’t realize this until after the fact.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

