Zuihitsu

The challenge at Real Toads today is to write a poem using the method of zuihitsu.  It’s a Japanese style of poetry that draws upon Buddhist thoughts and resembles personal narrative~almost a diary entry rather than a poem that follows a strict form.  You can find much more information about this form HERE.

Standing in the Back Forty watching the goats browse as the hot sun beats down, I realize how blessed I am.  I imagine how happy I would be to live as an animal, content in my surroundings as long as my belly is full.  Then I hear the beautiful tune of the bobolink, and I smile to be who I am.

Visit Kerry’s Wednesday Challenge at Real Toads for more poetry in the zuihitsu method.

10 thoughts on “Zuihitsu

  1. …content as long as my belly is full! Ha, yes, that is a goat alright. I grew up with a few myself. This is poignant with a twist of humor. 🙂

  2. I often feel the same way watching my hens–they seem so content scratching around and dustbathing….as if they have the perfect life. I haven’t seen Bobolinks in Michigan, but we definitely had them in upstate NY.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

