Home » d'Verse Poets » An Old Friend

An Old Friend

This is my contribution to the Open Links at Real Toads and d’Verse Poets.

The Joy of childhood has

forgotten my name.

The Passion of my youth has

moved on to greener pastures.

Cynicism calls to me like an old friend;

dark and jaded thoughts respond

to the call with wicked glee.

I rush to point out faults and flaws

within the system in frenzied delight.

Just don’t ask my input on how

to effect any kind of positive change.

My cynical reply is that it

doesn’t matter what I do.

One person alone can’t change a thing.

One person can’t buck the system,

so why try?

It seems Cynicism has brought

along his friend Apathy,

and I just don’t care anymore.

If only I knew how to bring back

those old friends Joy and Passion,

but their number seems permanently

lost to my world.

8 thoughts on “An Old Friend

  1. a hard place…i find myself slipping into cynicism honestly at times….seeing change falter and people unwilling to band together and do something about it…all too real piece…

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

