Home » Friday Flash 55 » Cancer

Cancer

Mushu

Cancer~the word itself causes the stomach to tighten, but she wasn’t surprised.  He was, after all, an old man. There was a family history.  The next one, however, was a kick in the gut.  This one was cut down in his prime.  A cruel disease killing its victims and maiming loved ones left behind.

Snickers

Sorry to be such a downer, but this one is real.  First my almost 14-year-old dog was diagnosed, and five days later my 9-year-old cat was diagnosed.  It’s been a rough week, but they are both hanging in there for now.  Strangely, this is the closest cancer has come to me in real life.  Earlier this year, however, a bloggy friend was diagnosed with breast cancer.  Well, Marigold the goat is the bloggy friend, and it’s her Goatmother that was diagnosed. She’s bravely sharing this experience on the blog.  That’s when my mom and I made the “Butt the Hay Out of Cancer” blog button in my sidebar.  Since then, I’ve opened a zazzle shop, and real buttons were the first item in it.  Ten percent of the purchase price will be donated to cancer research.

I’m linking this to G-Man’s Friday Flash 55.

10 thoughts on “Cancer

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your dog and cat both. I lost my sweet Emma (lab cross) last year. Kudos on taking positive steps for good to fight against cancer.

  2. A kick … yes, it is never ever easy. Dogs and animals really do live ONE day at a time. They don’t plan the future and they don’t hold grudges about the past. They are thankful for each hug, each word, each walk. And they give love far more than we ever return. So, for however long we have them, we are very blessed. Hugs sent your way….

  3. Teresa…
    Now who’s making WHO a bawling mess?
    You are such a sweet Lady.
    Thanks for being my friend.
    Loved your 55
    Thanks for playing, and have a Kick Ass Week-End

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

