Home » Friday Flash 55 » Pondering Fall

Pondering Fall

Walking along the trail

pondering those who walked before,

awed at the beauty of the trees,

the sound of a woodpecker,

nature’s palate of colors spread

across her vast canvas.

Were they simply surviving

too busy to notice?

Squirrel scurrying across the trail

makes me jump;

my ancestors would have

brought it home as dinner.

It’s time for G-Man’s Friday Flash 55.  Write a story in exactly 55 words, tell Mr. Know-It-All, and visit others.

16 thoughts on “Pondering Fall

  1. What does ‘On the hoof’ mean please?
    Being a more or less veggie, not sure I could eat squirrel either. I suppose we eat anything if we’re hungry enough.
    The pics are beautiful.

  2. My dogs would agree with your ancestors about the proper place for a squirrel, but they can’t catch ’em. They do have an all consuming hobby trying, especially in the fall when the acorns on the scrub oaks draw them to our property in droves. Loved your peaceful 55.

  3. I love your photographs and the pictures collage is beautiful . Life paths always fascinate me , past and present. Great 55, Teresa. I got to admit that rabbit taste really good…well, I am chinese after all. Do pardon me. Mine is here
    Have you a TRULY BLESSED WEEKEND!!!
    hugs
    shakira

  4. Aw, this was sweet.
    Love the part about the squirrel.
    To the best of my knowledge, I’ve never eaten squirrel… and would love to keep it that way. 🙂

    Thanks for doing Friday 55!
    Mine’s here. 🙂

  5. Teresa, you might not want to hear this but….
    Squirrel is THE best tasting wild game there is.
    All they eat is corn and nuts!!
    Loved your Autumnal Awe 55.
    Thanks for playing, and have a Kick Ass Week-End

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

