Home » d'Verse Poets » A Message to My Son

A Message to My Son

The challenge at d’Verse Poets today is so timely.  It’s to examine time and how it flies by so quickly.  I can certainly relate to that as I never seem to find enough time to do these fun poetry challenges.  Where does all the time go?

***

As you quietly sit there on the couch

arms folded, pouting mouth complaining,

“I’m bored,” it reminds me of my youth.

Looking back at my teenage angst years,

I think of all the time I spent bored~

nothing to do living in the middle of nowhere,

not knowing yet my interests and passions.

Staring mindlessly at the television,

oh yeah, I could kill some time.

Procrastinating, avoiding, delaying

my chores, dishes, cleaning my room.

If only I had already learned my passions

or spent some of that bored time

trying to figure them out.

I wouldn’t be sitting here wishing

for all that bored time back.

6 thoughts on “A Message to My Son

  1. Wow, you have nailed it with this poem! I definitely hear you on this. If only we could regain some of that time we lost in our own youths….. I wonder how your son would react if you showed HIM this poem.

  2. so true on how we wish for that time back….ha, being bored…i think we all go through that for sure…and i think sometimes we have to find those passions. keep encouraging him though..

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

