Ghosts

Happy Halloween!  Blessed Samhain!  Today for Real Toad’s challenge, we are to write a ghostly poem.  There was a link to quotes from other ghost poems, and we were to choose one to include in our own.  I chose, “Evening and all my ghosts come back to me,” from Shaking the Grass by Janice N. Harrington.

Ghosts of yesteryear haunt my mind.

Vague rememberings of the past stealthily

come to me in that quiet time before sleep.

castles and moats

witches and knights

seeing my own death

The daylight hours are fine, but

its evening and all my ghosts

come back to me in a flash.

Fantastic dreams are so familiar.

cave art and spears

great ice age animals

violence at every turn

Haunted by memories, dreams or ghosts

screaming for their stories to be told.

I wonder how the tale will end this time around.

10 thoughts on “Ghosts

  1. I love the way you have set out this poem with the indented stanzas. Our ghosts do have a way of coming to us when the day is dark. Perhaps they don’t mean to haunt us, just remind us of their lives.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

