Good-bye Baby

Fireblossom has assigned us the task of writing about some tragedy or calamity for the Wednesday Challenge at Real Toads.  Luckily, I don’t have any real life experiences to draw from that would fit that category.  So here is my best effort.  Be sure to visit Real Toads to discover more devastation and calamities.

***

lamb headstonesmall stone lamb

for a tiny baby

such a short time

to enrich my life

my grief rains down

salty tears on her grave

my heart beside

my gentle babe

in a little wooden box

buried in the ground

now frozen in time

***

16 thoughts on “Good-bye Baby

  1. This is something that, for most of human history, played out far too often. There is an old cemetery in the city where I work, and there are rows of family graves, with many of them being children or babies. I “adopted” one, a baby girl named Lilah. When I used to go there to eat my lunch (because it was peaceful), I always stopped to visit her and send a thought her way.

  2. This breaks my heart, Teresa. When I was 9, I had a baby sister who didn’t make it home from the hospital. For a long time, I’d find myself going to the cemetery, crying for someone I wanted so much to hold, but never could.
    K

  3. Sending you lots of healing reiki love hugs ~ not easy to lose anyone but especially your child ~ loving tribute ~ ‘she is now watching over you with warm love’ ~

    (A Creative Harbor) aka artmusedog and Carol ^_^

  4. Oh this is so heartrending a poem. So very sad, and I am so sorry for your loss. I know your baby must ride along in your heart with you, now. When I was younger and wanting children so badly, the worst thing I could imagine was losing one of them. It truly must have been a disastrous event. Take good care.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

