Home » d'Verse Poets » To the Haemonchus

To the Haemonchus

The challenge at d’Verse Poets today is to write a poem in the second person.  It seems I’ve spent quite a bit of time lately focusing on one haemonchus, so that is to whom I’ve written my poem.  If you’re not familiar with said haemonchus, consider yourself lucky because my description is literal.  It’s also in exactly 55 words for Friday Flash 55.

You vex me so

making me want

to scream and cry

seeing you attack the

innocent and weak

leaving a wide trail

of destruction and

death in your path–

while I’ve been told

every one of Nature’s

creatures great

and small has its

merits, you must

surely be the exception

you horrible cruel

bloodsucking

parasite.

27 thoughts on “To the Haemonchus

  1. I’ve never understood how things like this figure in the cosmology–pure evil, imo, and it frightens me sometimes that in Nature, the life of a parasite is of equal weight with the life of a host. I’m so sorry you’re dealing with this, Teresa.

    • Haemonchus contortus, also known as red stomach worm, wire worm or barber’s pole worm, is very common parasite and one the most pathogenic nematodes of ruminants. Adult worms are attached to abomasal mucosa and feed on the blood. This parasite is responsible for anemia, bottle jaw, and death of infected sheep and goats, mainly during summer months in warm, humid climates.

      Your description sounds right on, though I’m not too thrilled to have gained this new knowledge.

    • I’ve lost a couple to round worm/cocci combinations when the drugs quit working on the round worm. Had one girl have a transfusion because she was so anemic. It is a constant battle. Goat are really susceptible to parasites.

  2. This is 2nd person?
    Then what is 1st person?
    What do I know, I was a Sociology major?
    It could be in 4th person for all I care…I LOVED IT!!
    Thanks for playing, thanks for being so awesomely supportive, and have a Kick Ass Week-End

  3. Goats are very susceptible to round worms (aka haemonchus). It’s a constant battle, and unfortunately the worms are becoming resistant to the drugs used to treat them.

  4. With the others on looking haemonchus up – and you really have summed it up pretty well. Gotta be right up there with wasps in the questions, “Why are there …? What are they for?”

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

