Home » Haiku Heights » Outside and Grasshopper

Outside and Grasshopper

I have the hardest time writing on the weekends when there is so much to do on the farm.  I guess, I can still meet the goal of 30 poems this month since most of my posts have had more than one.  This is my catch up from the weekend.  Haiku Heights gave the topic of grasshopper for the 8th day.  The challenge at Real Toads was to write about Outside, but since I’m late, I’ll use this for my open link.

grasshopper

little grasshopper

violin legs play music

attracting ladies

***

standing outside society

dancing to nature’s music

spinning, skirts twirling

bare feet in cool grass

deeply connected to Earth

following her soul’s instinct

beneath blazing sun’s eye;

as day goes gently down

those within stare blankly

through the glass window,

sad faces jeering, mocking

the freedom she flaunts

hating their secret desires

to follow an outside path

10 thoughts on “Outside and Grasshopper

  1. Agree with others. Delightful haiku. I don’t normally read longer poetry but found myself very engrossed in your beautiful meaningful writing.

  2. I am with you….the weekends are the hardest, plus I realized that the Haiku is in a totally different time zone than us so I have to stay ahead in order to post on time.

    Love the poem. Truly speaks grasshoppers!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

