Home » d'Verse Poets » Heading Home

Heading Home

Karin presented us with a list of words to use for the poetry challenge at Real Toads today and asked that we use at least three in today’s poem.  I’ve placed the words from her list in italics.  I’m also sharing at the open link for d’Verse Poets.

***

A simple daily habit,

taking personal inventory

of where I’m at right now.

Taking account of

what I have and

what  I want in life.

Tomorrow’s on its way.

Time’s pace never slows;

soon gray will dapple

my straight dark hair

as I hurry home.

***

13 thoughts on “Heading Home

  1. Teresa, yes, the old moral inventory… how many times have the priorities changed over the years? First it was hedonistic, and unapologetically so… later, with Riley to raise, it was practical. Now, my inventory is where I wanted it all along, especially the grey that’s sprouting all over my “sharp little pointy head”! Loved this concept. Amy

  2. def an important habit…taking personal inventory…where you are at…where you want to get…are you cultivating the habits it takes to get there…times is not to be wasted for sure…

  3. I like that daily habit, keeping a personal inventory ~ Indeed time flies very soon, so gotta make that bucket list real ~ Smiles ~

  4. You’re so right, Teresa. Continuing to take personal inventory can keep us headed in the right direction, whether it’s the straight and narrow, or the long and winding road, whichever is best.
    K

  5. ah it’s not bad to take a bit of time to do that personal inventory on a regular pace…like gps-ing the position…and adjusting the steering wheel to make sure we get where we want to go…nice

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

