Home » imaginary garden with real toads » Stillness, Silence, Solitude

Stillness, Silence, Solitude

Margaret at Real Toads has shared some wonderful artwork with us to inspire a poem that reflects on stillness, silence, and solitude.  My poem was inspired by “The Girl in the Window” by Edvard Munch, and you can see the picture and find more poems HERE.

***

soft introspection

turning wide-open eyes

to her own heart and soul

seeking that private place

hidden behind a public persona

buried deep, past the

bumps and bruises

of loves long ago lost,

where she  feels free

to forgive herself

those human frailties

holding her in place,

finally setting her free

to soar once again

 

14 thoughts on “Stillness, Silence, Solitude

  1. To forgive herself…

    There really is something magical about a window at night. I can remember, like it was yesterday, my window growing up (my parents still live in my childhood home) how I’d look out it at night and think, ponder, replay … life. Honestly, when I go back and stand there at night, I tear up. Lovely right.

  2. I so love this poem. It flows so peacefully, it put me in a very peaceful place. I especially love “turning wide-open eyes to her own heart and soul”. A beautiful description of solitude.

  3. The pacing like the heartbeat, like the breath, is soothing and inviting. I want to stand by this window. Also amazing is that this painting is by the same guy, I think, who did the famous “Scream.” Both of you make art that expresses.

  4. How truly this speaks to honest introspection, Teresa, accepting oneself without reserve (those “wide-open eyes”) and living with oneself, as Toads must, warts and all.
    K

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

