Home » Friday Flash 55 » Statistics

Statistics

Bus Stop sign

sitting on the bus
looking at passengers
wonder who fits
which scary statistic:
rapist, single mom,
high school dropout
Democrat, Republican,
fag or Jehovah’s Witness.
Can’t tell by looking;
No rubber stamp
on the forehead
proclaiming who’s
dangerous, just a little,
or a total psycho
ready to make me
into another statistic:
today’s latest victim

***

Lots of craziness in the news.  I hate to think we’re getting to the point of not trusting anyone and always wondering what’s going to happen next and who’s going to be in the headlines tomorrow.  We can all be put into neat little categories, but none of them mean a thing as far as I’m concerned, and I refuse to live a life of fear.

Sharing with G-Man for Friday Flash 55.

If you want to enter the giveaway for a copy of my new novel, The Elements, you can leave a comment telling me you’d like to be entered HERE before Sunday night.

10 thoughts on “Statistics

  1. You’re very right, Teresa–we bring our own fear into the equation when people become scary stereotypes–we’re all just people, and even the crazy ones do most harm to themselves, I think.

  2. As a Chevy Salesman it helps if you can judge a book by it’s cover.
    But we all know that’s not the case.
    But your apprehensive 55 was AWESOME!
    Thanks Teresa for always contributing a Top Shelf story/poem.
    You Rock The Cornbelt!
    Have a Kick Ass Week-End

  3. Well said. I always thought the reason we don’t wear our labels for all to see is because we all deserve a chance to be someone new every day. Here’s to freedom of being!

  4. Well, I don’t think really we can tell much by the exterior. I try, but am not always successful, not to place labels on anyone. Nice 55!

  5. I’ve often had the same thoughts when in a crowd of people. Our distrust just seems to get fueled these days. You truly cannot ever judge a book by its cover. You never know when good or evil lurks beneath. Awesome 55, Teresa!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

