Home » imaginary garden with real toads » Millie Ann Saanen

Millie Ann Saanen

I was really excited to see the challenge at Real Toads today.  Peggy gave us the challenge of exploring the world through the perspective of an animal.  You might not know this, but I share my farm with the world famous musical blogging goat Millie Ann Saanen.  She’s quite the special lady.  At 9 1/2 years old, she’s very wise and has no problems maaing her wisdom to others.  She’s also one of the “characters” in my new novel, Aeviternus Adventures Book I: The Elements.  This challenge was right up my barnyard!  I just told Millie to take it from here.

Saanen goat novel character

“Stupid human trying to sell her novel, while I’m writing serious poetry here.  I better get extra corn for this.”

tap, tap, tap under the silvery moon

old barn boards as my drum

tap, tap, tap a soothing rhythm

as I play my goat horns

chewing cud and ruminating on

the perfect life this old goat has

tap, tap, tap through the night

a comfort for my herd to hear

***

23 thoughts on “Millie Ann Saanen

  1. Millie, I feel you may be related to our Roger. He would have loved
    to have joined you after his step-father made him leave the kids’
    home. But I think he went to Cabretta and Cabrito ‘schools’ instead.
    ..

  2. Love reading, reading, reading this Millie! Do you get to live in the house? Wonderful of you to help out your human with the poems while she works on her novel. Love this!

  3. How do you do, Millie, it is so nice to meet you. Do you enjoy being hugged? You look very huggable. And how do you feel about elderly golden retrievers?
    We’re both glad you got to visit the Imaginary Garden, where you’re so welcome and no one will hurt you. Sherry, at least, will write about your visit, and perhaps someone else might write about you, too.
    Love, Kay and Lindy

    • I absolutely LOVE hugs and scratches between my horns. I am not a fan of dogs at all. They scare me. I’ve really enjoyed visiting the Toad Garden today.

  4. Sweet! Millie feeds my love of chev from the Harvest Local store. I shall have to go visit the goats themselves as I only know goats through Grimm’s fairy tales and this poem.

  5. This gave me the needed aspect of this prompt as pure fun. My old great grandma on the farm bent down one day and was rammed by the old billy goat. But I recall a goat from the Springfield Fair one glorious summer and no matter how i felt about life’s conflicts and seriousness it would come to me wanting so much to play. Spirit animals nearby indeed.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

