Home » d'Verse Poets » A Black and White Poem

A Black and White Poem

I seem to have totally missed last week, so I’ve decided to use the Let’s Write in  Black and White poem challenge posted by Kerry last Wednesday for my open link inspiration.  I’m also sharing with the open link for d’Verse Poets.

Sunset in black and white

delicate branches etched
against the fall sky
limb lowered in grief
at the travesty unfolding;
disappearing sun staring
at bucolic scene below;
nature’s beauty stolen
sold to the highest bidder,
a void in the landscape
no longer solid as a rock.
What might be taken next
proving nothing is forever?

***

The black and white story behind the poem is a very large rock being taken from my pasture and sold without my permission.  I’m sure he feels he did nothing wrong as it was a rock he dug out of my hayfield.  I’d like to think he simply forgot the conversation in which I told him I didn’t want the rocks removed rather than the lure of money.  I’m still trying to get my rock back.

Goats on RockThe one on the left is the one I’m missing.

 

22 thoughts on “A Black and White Poem

  1. That’s a beautifully written piece about such a violation of your property, but it feels like it means more to you than just property. I wish you all the best getting it back.

  2. Rocks are living things and I share your and your goat’s distress at its loss. Sometimes family can be more selfish than strangers in wanting what is yours and then converting it into cash.

  3. This is so beautiful – the anguish, not just of yourself, but of Nature. I feel your pain, but I also feel your resoluteness, and forgiveness. The rock in the picture really is a wonderful rock – he seems quite loved by your goats. I hope you’re reunited soon. XX

  4. yes… nothing is forever and nature reminds us again and again… i think i only manage to endure the black and white cause i know the colors will be back in spring….

  5. there have def been times in life where i felt stripped bare and wondered just what could be taken next…stealing a rock…never would have considered it…ugh…sorry that happened…

    • It was removed from the hay field to avoid damaging equipment when we make hay to feed my goats. It was just supposed to be left in my pasture out of the way. People pay ridiculous amounts for large rocks.

  6. Some people have the audacity to just ‘take’ without thinking. This I just cannot understand. Compensation is the only way through negotiation or legal redress. But still it is not easy and takes time without any guarantee of success or satisfaction. So sorry to hear this,Teresa!

    Hank

  7. I am so sad n’ sorry! They need this rock….I don’t understand those who do and go against someone’s wishes….I so hope you get it back! This is upsetting…. Sorry!

  8. I am outraged on your behalf. I have a loving relationship with rocks – as do your animals in the photo, it seems, and would sorely miss that big old beauty. Grrrrrr.

  9. Holes in landscape and in the heart! Your poem shows a gentle grief in the face of helplessness. Your notes have a different tone altogether, and I cannot help being angry at the thief! Shall we march to the house of the guilty one? Picket until it is returned?

  10. Such a beautiful photograph, Teresa, and the poem makes me sad. Why do people think they can just take things? What gives them that right? I hope you get the stone back.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

