Shakespeare

Today’s challenge at Real Toads is to write a poem about something you are passionate about or that inspires you.  I’ve combined my love of literature and teaching.  Sadly, many students don’t share that love of the classics.

Shakespeare book

Shakespeare butchered
with the barbed tongue
of uncouth youth
#boring

unmetered disgust
hides ignorance
of rhythm and rhyme
#stupid

The immortal Bard
preserved in verse
revealing human frailty
#whatever

Lines of love lost
on society drowning
in an information age
#failure

9 thoughts on “Shakespeare

  1. Believe it or not, I have come to love Shakespeare through my oldest son. Even if I don’t understand it, I ADORE listening to it. He memorizes and passionately practices for his plays… As a teacher, you won’t reach everyone with SHakespeare, but you WILL reach some and that is what is needed to keep the spark alive.

  2. I also love how you blended the voices of then and now! Yes, the drowning is happening and so many not even aware-so sad! Cleverly done

  3. My mother dragged me to my first Shakespeare play while I was in grade school. She was afraid I might not be old enough. I didn’t understand a single word for the first half of the first scene. Then suddenly a switch flipped in my brain and I understood most of it. It was one of the comedies. I don’t remember which. I was so delighted to catch the jokes and understand everything that I was hooked from then on.

  4. I believe your approach to this challenge has been avant garde in your blend of voices – teacher and students responding with hash tag brevity to one of the greatest of all literary geniuses. Juxtaposition does not get more significant than that.

  5. This is really cool how you’ve touched on the tension between classic literature and social media which may be polar opposites – at one end a rhymed iambic pentameter and the other end “lol” .

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

