Home » imaginary garden with real toads » The Geriatric Farm

The Geriatric Farm

Today, the challenge at Real Toads was to embrace our inner Dr. Doolittle.  That’s an easy task for me, since I chat with my animals all the time.  Right now, on the farm, I’m dealing with my aging critters.  I guess that’s to be expected when I’m a horrible livestock farmer that allows the animals to retire instead of selling them.  Now I’m at the painful point of watching their geriatric months/years.

My 17-year-old steer, MJ.

My 17-year-old steer, MJ.

Down on the geriatric farm
where all the animals retire,
a perfect little quaint barn charm
while everyone waits to expire.

Chewing cud and burping the blues,
“Oh, my achy, achy hoofies,”
the seventeen-year-old steer moos,
as he sputters and gives a wheeze.

The three-legged calico cat
meows her constant displeasure,
“I’m too slow to catch that dang rat!”
She switched her tail for good measure.

“My kids have all grown and left me;
no one left to nibble my beard,”
complained the wise old goat, Millie.
Above all, family she revered.

Animals stood around waiting
to see who would be next to go
and there was much ruminating;
their golden days moved too slow.

They hoped the llama might be next,
tired of the cranky Djali fits
when he’d stretch that long fuzzy neck
and give a great big rumen spit.

Down on the geriatric farm
where all the animals retire,
a perfect little quaint barn charm
while everyone waits to expire.

 

The cranky Djali Llama.

The cranky Djali Llama.

16 thoughts on “The Geriatric Farm

  1. Awwww… This was absolutely beautiful! And on a personal note I really admire and LOVE that you take care of your old animals!!! Loved the rhymes and the story you told. Hope they don’t all really hate the llama though… *smile*

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

