Home » d'Verse Poets » We Know

We Know

At Real Toads, Fireblossom gave us a list of words from The Myth of You and Me by Leah Stewart to choose from and asked that we use at least three.  I’ve managed to use four from the list.  The challenge at d’Verse Poets today is to reflect on language.  When we use it or when it might have failed us.

Millie Ann Saanen

Millie Ann Saanen

We know
deep within our hearts
a deep mutual love exists.
A secret we share, we two,
just knowing the others’ thoughts.
No language required
to express our needs and fears.
We know.
Some call it crazy talk and say
you can’t communicate with animals,
but Millie and me,
We know.
Choose to listen without ears;
open the mind to possibilities
and it’s easy to hear.
We know.

 

15 thoughts on “We Know

  1. Love it, Teresa. I too talk with animals, they learn our pigeon talk coming from our attempts to use their language. Ducks I do best. Of course with Adi (our beagle dog), between us we didn’t even need words.
    BTW, I knew those fellows peeking from the barn door shown in my bottom picture posted the other day were sheep. They were sooo cute, acting bashful like perhaps they were.
    ..

  2. Theresa, ha….you are definitely right. I have dogs. I know. We do speak with each other in our own language. And understand! I love the picture of Millie.

  3. there is def a language that happens between animals and humans…i swear my cat knows english…and yammers on like i understand cat-ish….but there is an understanding that comes as well in the caring….it communicates the same way a hug does…

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

