Home » d'Verse Poets » Springtime

Springtime

I’m a bit late, but I’m still joining in the Out of Standard Challenge.  The task is to use a clip from comedian Mike Birbiglia as inspiration.  You can check out the clip and other entries at Real Toads.  I’m also sharing for the open link at d’Verse Poets.

candle love reflection

days lengthen
skirts shorten

heat rises
necklines plunge

hickies pop
like daisies

hands grope
teenage thrills

seventh grade
hormones sail

young love
fickle and free

11 thoughts on “Springtime

  1. 🙂 Very fun to read, Tersa, I Like. I imagine you might see some of this at your school, depending upon dress code. I was the only student in my 7th grade class with eight in the whole school. We became fairly well educated but about things like this.
    Oh yes, I’m later than you so for today, 3.14, I wrote a little Pi Poem.
    ..

  2. The crazy thing is when you realize that you are worlds away from this experience but that your children are about to go through it. Scary!

  3. You had me at hickies pop like daisies. I really enjoyed how you describe adolescent spring with such happyness! Viva la and thanks for posting.

  4. Your idea of spring made me think of my students. You have depicted the effects of spring on a lot of them. Later they will look back on these years and smile, just as we do now.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

